Welcome to the MyDestination Nigeria travel guide, the official online guide covering where to go and what to do when in the Republic of Nigeria, commonly referred to as Nigeria. The name Nigeria is formed from the words 'Niger' and 'area', and was first proposed by Lady Flora Shaw, who later married Lord Lugard the 1st Governor-General of the Colony and Protectorate of Nigeria. At the time she was based at Lokoja the then capital of the goverment of Nigeria by the River Niger in the 19th century.

Nigeria is West Africa's most visited country, and Africa’s ninth most visited as a whole. It is also Africa's most populous, with more than 140 million people and more than 370 diverse ethnic groups. It is home to Lagos, a city with an estimated population that exceeds 10 million, and therefore is on the United Nations’ list of mega-cities.

Nigeria is located in south-western coastal Africa, and shares its borders with Niger, Benin, Chad, and Cameroon in Central Africa to the south-east. Nigeria’s total land mass covers 923,768km and is five times larger than Ghana, 13 times as large as Sierra Leone and occupies a seventh of West Africa.

The country is home to about 371 different and distinct tribes, the largest of which are the Hausa and Fulani (in the north), the Yoruba (in the south-west), and the Igbo (in the east). 

Nigeria is divided into 36 colourful states and each state enjoy a high degree of autonomy. They can set industrial policies and independently seek to attract investment. This is usually done within the broader national policy and must comply with federal rules (with regard to import duties, for example).